Mombasiglio - San Michele Le Masentine

T09

Level of difficulty

Type

Duration

2 hours 45 minutes

STARTING POINT

Town Hall Square

Municipality of departure

Mombasiglio

Starting fee

450 m

POINT OF ARRIVAL

Town Hall Square

Municipality of arrival

Mombasiglio

Arrival fee

450 m

Length of the route

20.3 km

MAXIMUM QUOTE.

682 m

Minimum fee

400 m

Uphill elevation gain

592 m

Downhill gradient

587 m

Charging column

Not present

THE PATH.

Interesting loop route that from the center of Mombasiglio descends towards the valley floor, touching on charming rural corners by means of an itinerary that does not present challenging gradients and is on a mixed dirt and asphalt surface.

From the Town Hall square—dominated by the imposing castle—the route heads northeast, passing by the archaeological site of Sant'Andrea, and then, after about 3 km, turns westward to reach the idyllic village of Masentine, famous for its natural bridge.

It continues, again, first on Provincial Road 34 and then on State Road 28, then crosses the railroad tracks and returns to the dirt road near the Madonna della Neve chapel.

Finally, we continue to the locality of San Paolo parallel to Provincial Road 60, turn eastward skirting the hamlets of Ascheri and Alberghetti, and re-enter the center of Mombasiglio near the Town Hall.

Locations and Points of Interest

Mombasiglio Castle

Built in a scenic area around the year 1000 and remodeled several times over the centuries, the manor house served as a base for Napoleon’s troops, led by General Seurener, in 1796. In light of these events, the building—in addition to serving as the headquarters of the GAL Mongioie—houses the Bonaparte Museum, which boasts the largest collection of original prints and engravings by Giuseppe Pietro Bagetti depicting Napoleon’s First Italian Campaign, as well as the Museum of Local Marbles and Stones.

Sant'Andrea Archaeological Site

Probably built in the 11th century and demolished in 1923, the building is mentioned in the “Statutes of Mombasiglio” of 1331 and was listed (between the 13th and 14th centuries) among the possessions of the Abbey of San Dalmazzo di Pedona under the name “Sancti Andree de Montebaxilio.” Featuring a rectangular floor plan with a semicircular, vaulted apse and an altar separated from the choir, the church is now an interesting archaeological site open to tourists, scholars, and researchers.

Masentine Natural Bridge

Straddling the municipalities of Lesegno and Mombasiglio, the bridge is an imposing earthen structure (approximately five meters wide and thick) that connects the two banks of the Mongia Stream, which has truly shaped its appearance through a process of erosion that has likely lasted a million years. Considered one of the most important natural bridges in Europe, it attracts internationally renowned scholars and university researchers every year.

Chapel of Our Lady of the Snow

Built by the nobleman Giustino di Monteforte, who had it frescoed in 1403, as indicated by an inscription now no longer legible on the side of the altar, it is an isolated building consisting of an almost square room with an ogival cross vault, preceded by a portico of later date. A beautiful example of fifteenth-century painting, it preserves figures and colors similar to the more famous chapel of San Fiorenzo in Bastia Mondovì, testifying, perhaps, to the same artistic hand.

Local Specialties

Baluva di Lesegno: a traditional sausage made from cotechino sausage meat to which guanciale and various spices are added. Having been awarded the Municipal Designation of Origin in recent years, it is the centerpiece of the recent Sagra del Crin festival, which every year in early fall fills the town’s streets and squares with a variety of culinary offerings and an equally diverse array of recreational, cultural, and exhibition events.

Download gps coordinates of the route

All Mongibike tracks are also available on Tabui

In the Valle Mongia this and much more awaits you!